Running the COM/IP Setup Program
Log in as a user with Administrator privileges. Run the COM/IP setup program and follow its instructions.
To restrict access to the COM/IP Control Panel to users with Administrator privileges, select the feature Administrator Only Mode during installation. The redirector will still be usable by non-administrators. However, the COM/IP icon in the Windows System Tray will not appear, and the COM/IP Control Panel will not be accessible. Also, the Check for Updates button in the About box will be disabled.
The Licensing window will prompt for Name and Organization. These fields are optional, and are independent of the license key.
Installing in Trial Mode
The COM/IP software may be installed in trial mode by selecting the Use an Evaluation Key button during the installation.
Trial mode can only be used once on a given computer. The trial time period of 30 days will begin when the software is installed. Up to 256 virtual COM ports may be used simultaneously.
Installing with a License Key
Select I have a License Key and enter the license key in the correspond field.
The license key can be updated at any time by clicking the Licensing button in the COM/IP Control Panel.
If the license key being used conflicts with one that is being used on another computer, then a window will be displayed containing information about the conflicting license key. Neither COM/IP installation will work until this is resolved.
Installing an Update
Check for software updates by clicking the Check for Updates button in the About box. The current software version and license key will be submitted to the Tactical Software website, which will then display a web page describing applicable updates and software download links.
The setup program will remove the existing COM/IP software. The license key will be preserved, and the virtual COM port selections and settings will be maintained.
Removing the Software
In the Windows Control Panel, open the Programs and Features applet. Click the entry for COM/IP. Then click the Uninstall button. A restart of Windows will not be necessary after uninstalling.